Wow. This caught me by surprise this morning. The message below (forwarded to Google Mail) looks legit, but if you hover over the link, you see it points to a binary (password.exe) hosted on gameroomhaven.com.
Most of the message is legit. The links at the bottom of the post are legit, pointing back to twitter.com. However, the e-mail address in the SPAM is one I only use for a high school alumni site. Based on that, I started to look at the message more carefully and noted the malware link posing as the password reset URL.
Lesson here, don’t click on links in your e-mail without verifying the source.
Using the Google Mail ‘Show original’ feature (drop down in upper right corner of each message) showed the source code for the message where the malicious URL is obvious. A snippet from the original below:
Hey there. Can't remember your password, huh? It happens to the best of us. Please open this link in your browser: http://www.gameroomhaven.com/password.exe This will reset your password. You can then login and change it to something you'll remember.
Hostinger isn't new, but it's new to me. Since I'm retiring the end of this…
Welcome to WordPress. This is your first post. Edit or delete it, then start writing!
Test for DNS and Cloudflare updates. This post is to confirm a connection to the…
This is a test post. Testing IONOS hosted Wordpress. This is only a test.
This is a test post after updating the server, changing the theme, and updating WordPress…